About the ELMI

ELMI was created in 2001 to establish a unique communication network between European scientists working in the field of light microscopy and the manufacturers of their equipment.

SPAOM2021, the Spanish and Portuguese Advanced Optical microscopy meeting, 23-25 November 2021, online

Dear colleagues,

There are only 2 weeks left to register for SPAOM2021, the Spanish & Portuguese Advanced Optical microscopy meeting, which will take place on-line on November 23-25th (“virtual meeting” format, transmitted from the Gulbenkian Science Institute in Oeiras Portugal).

SPAOM is a joint effort from Red Española de Microscopía Óptica Avanzada

(REMOA) and the Portuguese Platform of Biomedical Imaging (PPBI), to organize an annual congress covering new applications in optical microscopy and image analysis.

This year we have an exciting programme with 5 plenary sessions + 5 community workshops + numerous workshops and tech bites from our commercial partners.


These are the topics:

Participants are welcome to submit a poster Abstract (by Nov 12th), and we will select 5 abstracts for talks, each for one of the 5 different plenary sessions. There will be also flash-talks, and a prize for the best communication from the submitted abstracts!

Here are the important deadlines:

November 12th – Deadline for registration with abstract submission.

November 17th – Abstracts selected for talk are communicated (immediate confirmation required)

November 20th – Deadline for registration to the event

November 23rd – SPAOM2021 starts, 9AM (Lisbon time)

The full list of speakers and scientific programme can be found here:


(the event will be online, through the Hopin platform, transmitted from Oeiras @IGCiencia)

Registration is here: https://igc.events.idloom.com/spaom2021/register

follow us on Twitter with #SPAOM2021

We welcome you to join us on this exciting programme, submit your latest results, and we ask for your help disseminating the event. Looking forward to see you in SPAOM2021.

Gaby G Martins, Luisa Cortes, Paula Sampaio, Alex Lopes, Anna Pezzarossa (the organizing committee, also on behalf of the Scientific Committee)